Dexcom sensor scars on insertion sites

Does the dexcom sensor leave a scar at the insertion sites for you? Does this happen to anyone else?

I don’t use Dexcom, but the enlite certainly does. Not only that, the only it’s attached the transmitter makes “sores” and brusies.

1 Like

When I purchased they said Dexcom would not create scar tissue. Had something to do with Dexcom not injecting anything(ie insulin). I’ve been using for 4 years and haven’t noticed any scar tissue.

No dex scar tissue in 3+ years. I wear it for 2 weeks at a time, alternating arms. Rarely the red dot may remain a while but does disappear sooner or later.

I think the answer you’ll get depends on what people think you mean by “scar at the insertion site”.

You’ll get one answer, probably a no, if the question is thought to be does the sensor leave scar tissue. You’ll probably get another answer, most likely yes, if the question is whether or not there is any mark left after you remove the sensor from the site.

Frankly, I’m still not really sure what the heck scar tissue is. Which I think means I don’t experience it, but who knows? I meant to ask at my last appointment but I didn’t feel a lot of instant rapport with the doctor of the day so I didn’t.

There is always a mark … the “red dot” mentioned above … from the sensor insertion. How long it takes to go away depends on how much trauma the skin suffered from the insertion. And that depends on how where you inserted, how much “stress” is placed on that site, and probably a bunch of other things.

So … what was your question?

Note: My experience is with Medtronic Enlite, though I doubt it could differ that much from Dexcom. Aside from the concerns of the the internal chemistry, a subcutaneous sensor probe is probably pretty much a subcutaneous sensor, no?