Diabetes and hearing loss?

Hi,

This is my first post. I’m really new to blogging. My husband has had diabetes for a number of years now, and my sister just sent me a study published in the Annals of Internal Medicine showing that people with diabetes face double the risk of hearing loss than those without it. (My sister’s husband has had Type 1 diabetes since he was 19.)

Anyway, does anyone know anything about this? I am an audiologist in West Newton, Massachusetts, and so if this really is a risk for people with diabetes, then I want to make sure that not only should my husband and brother-in-law get their hearing checked, but maybe there’s something that can be done to make sure that anyone with diabetes get their hearing checked too? What do you think?

I have never heard of this before…I know we are at risk for a lot of things but I am not sure about hearing issues. Curious to know…I will look into it. Thanks for the info

What didyou say??? I have never heard of it but does not supprise me. anything that has to do with blood vesal is in danger and I think that small blood vesals supple the eat to live? could be wrong. Maybe you can help me with this.

I had never heard of this either but what doesn’t diabetes affect? I think my brain is running slower than it ever did.

The best thing to do is to get your hearing tested – it only takes a half hour and is usually covered by your health insurance. Did you know that 2/3s of people with hearing loss are still in the workforce? And now with this latest study that was funded by the National Institutes of Health, it’s clear that if you have diabetes, it’s better to just get your hearing checked.

I hope that helps. Happy hearing!!!
Rhonda

Yours and mine both!