Diabetes and Me. I just don't understand it

I woke up with FBS of 288, and I think it must have been high all night because my cat actually stayed laying on me all night. That never happens. My mouth tasted funny too early AM and then when I actually got up. BS has been weird all day. :frowning:

I am new to diabetes, and never thought this would or could happen to me. I had RNY Gastric Bypass on January 22nd, 2007 and have lost about a whole person off of me, and have been healthier physically for some part, although I am not surprised that I have a vitamin B12 deficiency at the tissue level, I knew this could happen, and I have to give myself a shot once a month which is coincidentally the same as doing insulin shots. Odd, how this has turned out. I never knew my BS was high or that I was having that as the acutal problem because my A1C level was 5.4, and I was having symptoms of HYPOglycemia. My PCP said there was no way that I had diabetes or pre-diabetes and that she was considering sending me to an Endocrinologist to possibly diagnose “hyperinsulism” which is what she was predicting.

Well I get to him, and he tells me, no, the A1C doesn’t necessarily matter for diabetes, given my family history, and my gastric “upset” blah blah blah and he sets me up for tesing. Glucose Tolerance Testing, Blood tests for FBS, Insulin, C-Peptide, and final BS. Well I didn’t pass the test. My sugar was high when I went in, then it was high throughout the test, and then it did drop down at the end of the test in the 70’s, so he was concerned and prescribed “Glucagon” for me. I have frequent hypoglycemia attacks, but since I have been ordered to test my BS 4-6 times a day, I notice my BS is higher at times when I don’t have any idea, like when I don’t even feel bad.