Diabetes & Exercise Solutions – No Time, Too Expensive, Painful, Boring,

The brain is an excuse machine – give it an inch and it will take a mile. I’ve found this is especially true with exercise, where there always seems to be a darn good reason to skip it. This article is the first of a two-part series on the biggest barriers I’ve encountered when it comes to exercising with diabetes. Below are some of my personal strategies for dealing with (i) time/convenience/cost; (ii) boredom/mental or physical discomfort; and (iii) low motivation. Of course, what I do may not work for everyone. Diabetes is all about personal problem solving, and you have to figure out what works for you! As always, I emphasize that I’m not a healthcare provider – just someone with diabetes that is passionate about exercise, diet, and wellness.

Read more HERE!

https://diatribe.org/diabetes-exercise-solutions-part-i-no-time-too-expensive-painful-boring-unmotivated

2 Likes

I consider time spent exercising so boring that it in effect wastes my already severely reduced life expectancy as a diabetic by effectively reducing the time I am alive and can do something useful. So unless I had clear and convincing evidence that the time wasted exercising would increase my life by more time than it costs, I wouldn’t do it. Also, the interruption to other valuable activities exercise costs is another disrupting factor to the organizational structure of the day, so that too should be counted as a cost in the cost-benefit analysis.

Since I can always just adjust the insulin dose to control blood sugar levels the blood sugar reduction from exercise is worthless and disproportionate in time cost to the time occupied by dose adjustment or bolusing.