Diagnosed with T1 last week - feeling overwhelmed!

Hi! I’m new to the site as of today, and this is my first time reaching out. It’s nice to have places like this to find people who have traveled this road way longer than I have!!! My story is kinda crazy, so sorry in advance for the long post!

I was told I had pre-diabetes (presumably type 2) and seemed to be doing great controlling my A1c with diet and exercise for almost 2 years, then my numbers went crazy last July! Having worked hard to successfully keep things under control without the medication, I attributed this spike to a steroid regimen for another issue, and ignored it for a while. But when the fatigue, blurry vision and frequent urination became almost too much this past January, I made an appointment with my doc. I saw him on Feb. 9th, he ran my A1c, and assumed it was type 2 and based on my history and symptoms, put me on metformin and Invokana. The day after my appointment was the first day with a blood glucose meter, and my fasting bg was 425–yikes!!! After 2 or 3 days on the meds, it had dropped down to under 200, but by day 4 I started getting really sick. After 2 days of severe nausea, cramping, extreme fatigue, throwing up and not being able to eat, I googled the side effects of the meds. I had been on metformin before for a brief period and had no issues so didn’t think it was that, but found that one side effect of Invokana is ketoacidosis. I had no clue what that was so googled it too. Seeing I had a lot of those symptoms, I asked my husband to run and get me some ketone strips. Well, my ketone level was extremely high, and as sick as I felt it was time to go to the ER–worst Valentine’s day EVER!!!