Do you change your Infusion Set and Reservoir at the same time?

Sometimes when its time to change my site, I notice my reservoir still has quite a bit of insulin in it. Do you guys change the infusion set and the reservoir or just infusion set. It seems easier to me just to do the whole enchilada at one time, but I’m still new at this pumping thing. Also, last night when I changed my site, it bled like crazy when I removed the old one. Took me about 10 minutes to get it stop bleeding. Today there is a big round bruise where that set was. Maybe I waited too long to change it? I don’t know. And maybe its normal.

Hi Bobby.I started pumping in February of 2008 and what my Diabetes team told me is that you can change your infusionset every 3 days and the cartridge can go 6 days.If your pump has a total daily dose you can figure on how much you need for 6 days.For example I use about 13 units a day plus I prime my tubing each time I change my set.So I figured I need about 110 units in my cartridge,give or take a few units.I only waste about 15 units.This has worked pretty good for me.I have hit a vein too with my set.It didn’t bleed alot though.

That’s how I do it, Dee. I change my cartridge every two set changes on my current pump. For the first few years I pumped, I did it all at once. I think each pumper has to find what works best for them, but I like doing it this way.

I change my site every 3 days like clockwork. Ever since I left a set in for five days and got a staph infection (and a small lump which makes that area unusable now), I don’t play around with leaving sets in for longer than recommended.

Hi Bobby, there is a similar discussion How often do you change your infusion set? and I started a discussion on the same topic as yours and I cannot find it.