Dr. Fuhrman eat for health. Good? Bad? Or neither?

Has anyone heard anything about Dr. Furhman’s books and claims?

http://www.drfuhrman.com/disease/Diabetes.aspx

I am just beginning research on diets and supplements and there is so much stuff out there it is hard to figure out what is real and what is fake.

Thanks in advance!

Hi Judith,

I just got diagnosed and am waiting for my tester. (should start tomorrow) My doc wants me to test 3 times a day to start with.

Eating to your meter basically figuring out what works for me based on my readings correct?

Thanks!

Eat to your meter, in a T2 context, is testing to find out which foods are causing damaging spikes and then restricting or eliminating them. Likely candidates are grains, potatoes, fruit, sugar, and legumes. But instead of taking this list on faith you test and determine which foods are causing you problems, For instance most fruit causes me to spike but strawberries in limited quantities are OK.

For a good explaination of how eat to your meter works go to the bloodsugar101 website and click on the link in the upper right "How to lower your bloodsugar"

Bernstein's approach works for me although I am a little looser on the carbs than he recommends. A good general overview is "Type 2 Diabetes the First Year" by Gretchen Brecker. She offers good explanations of what is going on and an overview of various approaches to treating T2

Thanks for info BadMoon!

I have looked at the Brecker book, I think I will get it. I already purchased the bloodsugar 101 in book form to have that as well.

Thanks again!

I also purchased the Harvard Medical guide to Diabetes.

I am pretty good at research and am a bit bookish. :slight_smile: So hopefully that will prove helpful.

My next step is to get an exercise bike.

The bloodsugar101 website and book are esentialy the same. You might also want to check out the author's blog. Being bookish is a definite advantage as diabetes is a do it yourself disease.