Exercise

Exercise–I find that at sometimes when I exercise my sugar goes up and at other times it goes down…any advice on when a good time to exercise is? Better than others? Kelly

I’m no expert…but in my experience I have found that after running my blood sugar rises. I think my body may be preparing for me to continue running for a longer period of time. And then about an hour or two after exercising my blood sugar settles into a much more comfortable range.

That means that I just treat exercise like my meals…I give my body a bit of time to adjust before I pull out my meter.

Again, I’m not an expert, but once or twice I have had by blood sugars SOAR when I exercised. I think that it was because i hardly took any insulin (cause I was going to do intensive exercise).

In my understanding, exercise decreasing your blood sugar because it makes the insulin more effective, but if you do not have enough insulin in you, then it will increase your blood sugar.

Is this true? Other ideas?

I think if you still make insulin, exercising will bring your BG level down. If you don’t it sometimes goes down and sometimes up. I have LADA and still make my own and exercising is a great way to bring my BG down about 50 points. This works well when I have eaten some carbs and NOT given myself a shot. However, I started basal insulin last week and yesterday was doing some energetic gardening. I had several broderline hypos (60s and 70s) and had to stop and eat every couple of hours. Next time, I think I will reduce my basal so I can avoid that.

Hey thanks! That makes a lot of sense to me! I have found too that when I walk at a moderate rate and not real fast it does not go up but down, so maybe your “theory” is correct! Also I am SO much a worrier that I am always checking my sugar, I like what you said about meals too, give my body some time before getting the meter out!! Thanks bunches!!