Expense of Test Strips

So the more I think about this, the madder I get. On my last visit I explained to the doctor that the prescription for 50 test strips at a time isn’t enough. I have to refill them almost weekly. She told me test strips are expensive and I should just test once a day in the morning to save money. Then, when I get my new prescriptions, there is still all the syringes and Humulin R for me to use when I test before each meal to take on a sliding scale. Why would they give me the syringes and Rapid Insulin if they don’t want me to test before meals? GRRRRRRR! I also explained that my left eye is getting blurrier on a regular basis. They said, nothing they can do. Just come back in six months and check to see if the Glaucoma is worse. GRRRRRRRR!

How am I supposed to continue to care if they don’t. I’m a photographer and an artist. I kind a need to see well. :wink:

Just venting.

I understand about the test strips. My doctor only wanted me to test once a day. My diabetic educator wanted me to test 5x a day. Insurance only allows me to test 3x a day. I priced test strips to see if I could afford it. It comes out to a little over a dollar a strip. Guess I’m stuck with 3x a day. Are you going to a M.D. or an endocronologist?

Your doctor is not using accepted medical standards to devise your treatment plan. Maybe it’s time for a new doctor.

I quote from page S17 of the American Diabetes Association’s Standards of Care 2009:
● SMBG should be carried out three or more times daily for patients using multiple insulin injections or insulin pump therapy. (A)
● To achieve postprandial glucose targets, postprandial SMBG may be appropriate. (E)

If you look online (Amazon) you can find the strips a little better priced. I just ordered 100 for $72. Since I only test 3-4 times a day, unless I feel like I need to check, this will last me a month.