Extending 630G Enlite Sensor past 6 days

First time poster here. I’m brand new to CGM, using the Minimed 630g with Enlite sensors. I’ve been scouring the forums for advice and everyone says you can re-connect a sensor once it’s expired to extend the life past 6 days. I have a good site in, but every time I go to reconnect it, it says “Sensor Expired.” What am I missing?

For example, the sensor expired this morning. I turned off the sensor connection on the pump for 20 minutes, then turned it back on so it could look for the sensor again. However, when it connects I just get the “Sensor Expired” message again. If I choose “Start New Sensor” from the Sensor Connection menu, it also gives me the “Sensor Expired” message. Do I have to do something differently to trick the pump into thinking it’s new?

Sorry for the rookie question, and thanks in advance!

I’ve had luck taking the transmitter off of the sensor, waiting 15ish minutes, plugging it back in and telling the pump to look for a new sensor. BUT, I haven’t had any luck getting more than one or two more days out of the sensor before it craps out. :frowning: I’d be interested to see what others do as well…

This is what I do with my 630G with Enlite sensors (YMMV):

1, Turn off the sensor from the pump a few minutes to hour or so before the sensor expires (not sure if it’s necessary to do this before “sensor end” but that’s what I do).
2. Carefully disconnect the transmitter from the sensor and recharge the transmitter. Be sure to do this with as little movement of the sensor as possible. You might need help with this step if your sensor is in an atypical place like back of arm (that’s where I’ve been putting my sensor with great results).
3. Reconnect the transmitter to the sensor after it fully charges. Put your choice of overlay tape over the transmitter (I use IV3000).
4. Start the sensor from the pump as a new sensor.