Focus on access: Elizabeth Pfiester, Founder of t1international

WRITTEN BY: Elizabeth Pfeister

Editor’s Note: This piece is a part of Focus On Access, a content series sharing resources and perspectives on insulin pricing in the United States. Explore the full series here.

Tell us about your history with diabetes and the founding of T1International

I have had Type 1 diabetes since I was four years old. I’m 31 now, so it’s been over 25 years. I grew up in the U.S. and I was lucky to always have good access to the things that I needed for my diabetes.

Pretty early on I started thinking about what life with Type 1 diabetes was like in other parts of the world, especially in places where health systems are not stable. I studied International Studies in college and then I came to London in 2011 to do my master’s degree in International Development. It was then that I really dove deeper into insulin access globally, including the cost to patients, affordability issues, and accessibility.

I knew that people were still dying because insulin, supplies and care weren’t available to them. I felt that no one was really addressing the issues in a way that put patients first and pushed for long-term, sustainable change. I started collecting information to put on what was originally a simple website. I then found myself connecting with people all over the world through different conferences and meetings — and thanks to the wonders of the internet. I eventually realized that I was educating people about these issues, but more was needed. Working directly with people with Type 1 diabetes all over the world made me see there was a real need for patient-led advocacy. There was not really any organization or group that was representing patients fully and fighting for access. There were especially not initiatives that were free from pharmaceutical industry funding.