Frustrated with diabetes and teaching

This is my first time on this community website and I guess I got on it because I am Extremely Frustrated with myself and my diabetes management. I have been teaching Elementary/Preschool for going on 10 years now and it is getting harder and harder to manage my diabetes. In fact, I feel like a failure because I have discovered over the years that I cannot balance teaching and my diabetes no matter how hard I try. I don't go to the gym like a use to because I don't have time and I'm exhausted by the end of the day. Plus the stress of teaching affects my blood sugars in a very negative way. That's the life of a teacher I guess. Sheesh I just can't do this anymore.

Sorry you’re having such a difficult time right now. You might want to post your comments in a forum rather than a blog, more people will see it that way. Takes time to figure out the website but welcome:)

Good morning,

I am so sorry you having this difficulty. I was a school administrator for about 16 years and a type 1 diabetic, my daughter in law is an elementary and Pre-School teacher. I get it I really do. I understand the stress and understand how bad it can be as you teach. Teaching is not for sissy's and if you have done it for 10 years are under stress.

I do have some suggestions Just some observations really, they might help, might not.

1. And most important I think is give yourself a break. Blood sugar and stress move in the same line. The more stress you have, the higher your blood sugar is likely to go. When you have high stress you need to say to yourself it is ok to run high. I know you want to bring it down and that can be done. But for the time being notice the trend and mark it down then say to yourself just because you wrote it down you are getting better.