Frustration - Depression - Guilt

Hi. I’m Alex(andra) Kulseth. I’m pretty new to tudiabetes. Still feeling my way around this site. Today I am so frustrated and frankly, depressed. Went to my Doc a few days ago and my AC1 is still over 8. My glyberide was increased for the 2nd time in a 6 month time frame. My Metforman was increased for the 2nd time - same time frame. Byetta, still at 5mg 2 x daily. Am type 2 for about 10 yrs. I started out on 1 tab metforman daily and now I just can’t believe how much all my diabetic meds have gone up and up and up. I get stressed out over the holidays - like a lot of people I guess. My youngest son was killed a few years ago (USMC) and the holidays are especially hard on me - memories. Today, I came home after running some errands and out of nowhere I decided to eat some fudge. I really wasn’t hungry for it. I just decided that that was what I was going to do. I ate at least a half-pound . Now, not only am I frustrated & depressed, I feel horribly guilty and afraid to check my BS’s or for ketones - I know they will be high - probably 300 or higher. And there is nothing I can do to bring it down except wait. Does anyone know of a way to lower BS levels after doing something stupid like I did today? Any tips, suggestions on how to battle this dreadful disease would be greatly appreciated.

Hi Alex

I’m sorry to hear about your struggles with D, and even more so the loss of your son.

The good news is that the point about checking blood sugars is that you CAN do something about it! The quickest ways I know of to bring sugar levels down are: exercise, rapid insulin, vinegar. Exercise would probably be the best, because the insulin would lead to weight gain. Put on some music and dance, go for a brisk walk, play with your kids or pets, do yard work, march on the spot, or anything else that will get your heart rate up. Exercise also works wonders for depression - some studies have found it as effective as antidepressants.