Hi

Just lookin for suggestions. I’m a newbie and just started my medn1 week ago. Since I’ve been on the med I feel worse than ever. So drained, sleepy. and nausea. Any tips?

What kind of blood sugars are you having, Bree? If your blood sugars are still quite high that could account for your feeling badly. What medication are you on? If you’re on Metformin, that frequently has gastrointenstinal side effects which often go away after taking it for awhile, so that might account for the nausea. If your blood sugars are still high, you should talk to your doctor and let him know the meds aren’t helping. Also have you had antibody testing to make sure of your type? One more question, have you learned about changes in your diet you can make to reduce blood sugars?

today’s reading at noon was 112 when this morning at 7am was 243. dont know why when i’ve been eating well, watching the carbs,etc. I am on Metformin and started in June 28th 2011.

metformin does take a little bit of time to kick in and be full effective. Dont expect metformin to be like an insulin shot where you eat and pop a pill and glucose leves come down. It took about 3 months before my numbers started to become stable. Also my diet change drastically and I started getting better readings. It took like 3 months til my stomach started to settle on the meds when I did not have the nausaea. Sorry to hear about your troubles but it does take a little bit of time for things to settle.

The 112 is great! I’m assuming that 243 was before breakfast, not after? I agree with PatientX to give it some time. One week is very recent. If you continue to have numbers that high when you get up then you might want to talk to the doctor about what to do to get those fasting #'s down. But if you haven’t been tested for Type, be sure and do that as well, to make sure you are being treated for the right condition… Especially if you are not overweight and/or have thyroid disease as well.