Honeymoon period question

Hi, I’m fairly new to diabetes, was diagnosed four weeks ago T1. I was told that I’m in my honeymoon period and that my insulin levels would change. Well today before lunch I was rushing around and ate on the go and forgot to take my shot. I didn’t remember until when I went to test. Well my bs was 126 two hours after eating and I had taco bell. Is it possible during the honeymoon period to produce insulin? I did take 30 units of lantus this morning. Was this enough to cover lunch? I’m just confused…

Elizabeth

My son was diagnosed in Jan 07 at the age of 3. His TDD when he came home from the hospital at diagnosis was about 15 units. Within weeks he could eat dinner without the shot of Novolog he had been getting and just weeks after that was down to one shot a day of NPH and Novolog combined for a TDD of less than 2 units.

I think what you are suggesting is entirely possible.

Also, as your BGs have gotten into range your insulin resistance has likely decreased thus resulting in less insulin needed overall.

I can still remember my Honeymoon Phase it lasted about 2 weeks where I didn’t need any insulin at all…that was 32 years ago when I was 12. But the Dr did warn me that this would happen… & NOT to thik that I was cured

I was diagnosed 8 weeks ago, and until recently I needed practically no insulin with my meals. I take 10 of the lantus, and I have been taking 2 of the novalog with each meal. I don’t come down into range as easily after a meal anymore though, particularly after dinner, so I take an additional unit with dinner, and most nights I still have a correction bolus later. Did you have a C-peptide run? that will tell you how much insulin you’re actually still producing.