Hoping for insight into lab results

Hi,

I'm 45 yo, have had T1 diabetes for almost 25 years, and I've been working out consistently for the last 9 months. I do 4-5 days a week of moderate to heavy weightlifting and and moderate cardio. I was an intercollegiate track sprinter and have always been active despite the fact that my diabetes control had gone to crap for several years until last Sept when I discovered that I had mild retinopathy in my left eye, motivating me to get my a1c back down under the 8-9 range (after many years in the 4-7 range) .

4 months ago, my new endo discovered that I was spilling microalbumin with an ACR of 113 (Al 4.5 mg/dl, Cr 39.8 mg/dl). My serum Cr was 1.1 mg/dl and my estimated Cr clearance was 73. My endo told me not to be concerned because I was working out consistently, had a high muscle mass, and an a1c of 6.2. He told me to be sure to take a break from the gym for a few days before the next test. I followed his instructions but the lab results last month came back with an ACR of 294 (Al 17.66 mg/dl, Cr 60 mg/dl). My Serum Cr decreased to 1.0 mg/dl and my a1c actually dropped to 6.0. My estimated Cr clearance was still in the stage 2 CKD range though. My endo put me on Lisinopril and tried to reassure me.

After a few sleepless nights, I called my endo to see if he'd run a 24 hour urine to clarify some of the results. He's out of town til the end of the month so I made an appointment with my urologist instead. My urologist ran the 24 hour urine but since he's not well versed in diabetic issues, he only ran total protein and not albumin. The results came back with 96 mg/24 hours of total protein, urine creatinine 1968 mg/24hours (2.4l of urine), serum Cr 1.0 mg/dl, serum albumin 4.4 mg/dl, and a Cr clearance of 123. I had been on Lisinopril for 12 days when the 24 hour urine was done.

My urologist gave my kidneys a clean bill of health but I'm still concerned about spilling abnormal amounts of albumin.