How can I keep my pod on for more than two days without site issues?

I’m new to pumping in general and have been on the pod for a little more than a month now. I have noticed that I cannot seem to keep my pods on for more than two days at a time without having the site go bad, being in pain from the cannula, or having extremely erratic blood sugars on the third day.

I will have good blood sugars for most of day 1 and 2 and then at the beginning of the 3rd day I will wake up and I sit at 250 for hours if I don’t give myself an external injection or change the pod. It does not matter how much insulin I give myself via the pod. When I take off the pod, I will have a HUGE raised bubble underneath my skin where the cannula was, indicating that I am not absorbing the insulin properly (I think anyways).

Also, if I’m having ok blood sugars on the third day, I will get extremely uncomfortable. The skin around the cannula will hurt very badly and will sometimes bleed. I have really sensitive skin so maybe this has something to do with it. These issues seem to happen randomly instead of related to any sort of activity I am doing. When I take off the pod, the cannula and site looks completely normal.

I would not really care about changing the pod after two days because the cost different really isn’t that much for me, but the main area of my body that I have enough fat for the pod is my stomach and I am losing potential sites very quickly. Is there anything that could possibly help with this?

Oh, and is this something that is way worse with the Omnipod than other pumps? Be honest because I have no idea…

My suggestion is to try your upper buttocks, thighs, and small of your back and see if you have similar issues. That might tell you whether it’s a site location issue, a reaction to the cannula with your skin, scar tissue, the way you move, etc.

It’s conceivable you’d have this issue with other pumps as well because the cannula materials and length are very similar.