HOW CAN I LOSE WEIGHT (without ripping my hair out)-Type 1

Ok, so I am a Type 1 who was diagnosed last year when I was 22 years old. Because I presented in DKA, I was severely dehydrated…so I had gotten really skinny.

Looking back then, I looked “sick.” So I knew that I would gain a little bit of weight when I got out of the hospital, I mean I gained 12 pounds just in the hospital from all of the fluids they gave me. HOWEVER, now, I am up about 22 to 24 pounds total and it’s starting to scare me. I am on Novolog (3x/day) and Lantus (1x/day). I also quit smoking recently and I gained about 6 or 7 pounds from that, but I just feel like now I have a really hard time trying to maintain.

Since I’m new to the game, and have only been diagnosed less than a year, I was wondering if anyone can give me some hints on how to lose weight. Or even some type of workout plan for me to try.

I really appreciate any comments/advice you might give me :slight_smile:
Thanks guy and God Bless

If you can get your BG relatively stable, I think that if you eat less carbohydrates, you will figure out a way to at least stabilize your weight and then can figure out how to cut out enough carbohydrates to lose weight? Unfortunately, it took me about 20 years of diabetes to get the hang of it but it’s probably worth it to figure that stuff out earlier in the game?

yeah and thats the wierdest thing…my a1c is 5.7 and i rock out at keeping my blood sugar good (i of course have the ocassional high) so i don’t really get it. like i said, i know that quitting smoking definitely helped me to gain some, but is it just my body adjusting? this is SO hard…

do you happen to know what the recommended number of carbs you are supposed to eat a day is?