How i would respond to someone who think bg is gross

as a diabetic i will not hide or be ashamed of being diabetic i bleed the same blood as you do no i do not care how gross out are you by my blood testing I do it to save my life oh wait would you like me to live a 100 years ago when we diabetics would die I think not as I am here today as a person who honors and remembers all my fellows diabetic in past present and in the future so to you I say it is your loss not to know us diabetics as we are still here and will not go away
something i wrote to stand up when people are gross out thanks it was a long day today what do you think.

2 Likes

I can’t recall anyone being grossed out if they noticed me testing my bg’s, which I’ve been doing about 17x a day (until I got a CGM) since 1979. I don’t notice if people notice me testing my bg’s. I don’t make a huge attempt to hide it, but I don’t hold my finger and meter up in the air and make a spectacle of the process either. :slight_smile: We do what we HAVE to do, WHEN we have to do it. I don’t get to wrapped up in worrying about other people when I need to test.

3 Likes

LOL, Grossed out. Shame on them. I have to admit I got over this long ago. I think my response would be to smile and keep going. The one thing I try to do is live as best as I can. I cannot help it if i have diabetes, and no it is not gross.

Best,

Rick Phillips

3 Likes

I think it’s natural for people to be grossed out by bodily fluids including blood. I am grossed out by them myself. Countless diseases can be spread (I know, not diabetes) by contact with other people’s bodily fluids… So I think it’s reasonable for people to not have to observe the blood of strangers in public. I believe the burden is on us to be discreet and respectful of cultural norms when doing what we have to do. I’m sure that position will inflame a lot of people around here, but it’s what I think

2 Likes