How long does it take to get used to pumping?

I am a very impatient person, my doctor is a very patient , methodical person, my saline date is july 28th and i was told i would start pumping mid august, i have read "pumping insulin " twice already, we go to disney world mid october, my question is am i going to have enough time to get used to pumping by then , that is in 85 days, we go to disney all the time but this will be the first time with an insulin pump and i am worried that i will not have things ironed out by then, i am very frustrated that it is taking so long, anyone have any advice, i trust ya"ll : )

My simple advice …yes things will be ironed by then out and have fun in Magical Land …by the way I did a 1/2 marathon in DW , Jan 2009 and attempted a full M in 2008 …had to give up at mile 22 …I wear a MM pump and usually a sensor . Bring Pumping Insulin along for night time reading , ha, ha …And I am still learning, pumper since 2001 …

The thing that took me the longest to remember was changing the site when you need to get a new resevoir, new tubing, extra tape, etc. Then remembering to prime the pump before inserting it was hard, but it only took 3-4 times to do it before it was second nature. I have been pumping for almost 15 years now and I can’t imagine not pumping. While you are using saline, make sure you watch how your blook sugars are doing when you eat and how long it takes for the insulin to bring them back to 120 or lower. Then you will learn about insulin sensitivity which is how much insulin it takes to bring your sugar back to the normal range after eating a certain number of carbs and how long it takes. I do this every season because my activities change with the seasons. Sleeping with the thing on your waistband will be a little difficult as well as