How Long Is It Going To Take For My Numbers To Go Down?

I’m coming up on my second week since diagnosis and my numbers are staying steady in the mid to high 200s with a couple of results in the high 100s.

I’m on 500mg of Metformin twice daily.

Your blood sugars won’t come down until you stop eating the carbohydrates that push those blood sugars up or get your doctor to put you on enough meal-time insulin to counteract them.

Carbs raise blood sugar. It’s that simple.

I’ve gotten these high numbers when I’ve eaten a meal of nothing but protein. And I’ve gotten the lower numbers when I’ve eaten meals with carbs.

The other day I was at 190 before dinner and two hours later I was at 194 and the meal contained carbs.

I’m new to this too and wondered the same thing. I’m a month in to taking metformin and 5 days into taking Byetta. I saw the drop start to happen with the metformin, diet, and walking a week ago (from just below 200 to the 140s). Then since the Byetta (with metformin, diet and walking) I’m seeing an even better drop hitting my all time low of 121. But the carbs and walking seem to be the real key here. The meds help for sure and I’m really seeing the results with the byetta but cut out those carbs and get moving! You will see results. Not only are my BG numbers down but I’ve lost 5 pounds. It is a good situation all around.

The exercise is just about impossible for me as I’m disabled and in chronic pain. I’m having to rely on diet and meds to lower my numbers.

I’ve got to go to the dr. for a follow-up on Friday. I’m thinking about talking to her about Byetta then.

Mandy,

If you are getting blood sugars that high when you cut out carbs, you need to talk to your doctor about insulin. Your blood sugars are much too high. Even the ultra-conservative ADA says blood sugars should be under 180. Most endocrinologists say under 140.