How to deal with the Christmas/Holiday Season

I am a seasoned diabetes veteran of 34 years. I have noticed in the last several years that my attitude toward the holiday season is less than enthusiastic. Nothing but carbs everywhere one looks. I find it very frustrating and leads to a great amount of stress for me. It does not matter what I try throughout the whole season as my blood sugar always goes sky high.
It really has become a season of frustration. I have a feeling I know what my Dexcom will look like as well as my test results.

Frustrated and looking for answers.

The holidays are not about food for me. They are about family, friends, celebration, thankfulness, gifts, kindness, memories, happiness, coziness, lights, music, hopefully snow, and relaxation.

I’ve had diabetes and severe food allergies since I was a kid. It has never been about food for me. The holiday season is still my favourite time of year. (Though I will say, when I feel pressured to eat food and people just will not take “No, thanks” as an answer, that does stress me out. But that can happen any time of year, it’s just that the concentration of food-related get-togethers increases during the holidays.)

I live, thankfully, in Australia and we tend to have cold meats or seafood and salads. Desserts are often fruit salad as well as more carby options. Christmas food is NOT traditional and there is no rule saying you have to eat certain things. If you can’t fix what is on offer consider taking your own options with you.
Compliments of the Season!

1 Like

I handled thanksgiving with aggressive prebolusing and smaller servings of each carby food that I really wanted and large servings of green beans and turkey. I make my own dessert for special occasions and for thanksgiving I made a low carb pecan pie.

BTW that site has a lot of really good low carb recipes.