I Cannot Afford Diabetes

I am 22. I am female. I am a college student, and I am a Type 1 Diabetic.

Once I moved out from my moms house and to college, I slid quickly down the slope to Diabetic hell. No matter how many jobs I work (my max at a time was 4) my insulin, testing materials and doctors visits are beyond my reach. Often, I have to prioritize which ones to buy (Generally, my Novolog Pens) and reuse my needles…my debt from ER visits is out of control, and coming up on graduation I feel like I will never be able to afford the care a very genuinely need to keep my sugars in control.

I feel like giving up; the medical industry has bled me dry and it feels like they are holding my life infront of me as bait; and my depression doesn’t help. How can I afford my life saving medication when peoples paychecks’ lifeblood is my wallet…

1 Like

have you applied for Medicaid? If not go to the local county assistance office and apply for medical assistance.
I did the same thing myself when I didn’t have insurance, but my state finally expanded Medicaid.
I will be losing Medicaid soon, however my fiancees employer has coverage for domestic partners.
post and let us know how you do.

i have similar problem $$$. my best solution is getting samples from your D doctor. this has saved me a lot of money, particularly w/ the insulin, which is OOP ridiculously expensive.
i have a pump for which i use Novolog ($500/vial). from my endo, insulin is free.

2 Likes

A couple thoughts…

1. you should still be eligible for your parent(s) medical coverage until you are 26. That definitely warrants looking into right away.

2. many colleges have health plans available to their students at very very low cost (like $200 / semester or so) that include basic insurance and prescription coverage. That also might be something to look into.