I want to build a site and iphone app for kids and their parents for FREE

I'm a software developer and a diabetic and as a way to give back to the community, I want to build a website and iPhone app that will encourage kids to monitor their BG.

Kids would select a robot avatar that would encourage them.
Here are the features I'm planning

1) Simple interface: Enter the number and you're done.
2) Reward/Badge system: Kids win badges for all sorts of events. e.g. 3 good measurements, multiple day streaks of measurements, etc.
3) Parents receive an email/txt when the child records the BG
4) Completely anonymous: Kids use the Avatar and name the avatar robot. There is no way to discover the actual identity of the child.
5) Actual rewards: I'll make stickers and send them out in the mail as rewards.

My plan is to make the app and the website COMPLETELY FREE FOREVER.

I don't mind paying the cost for now, but eventually I'll look for sponsors to keep the app free.

I'm looking for parents to help me with ideas, feedback, etc.

I'm *NOT* looking for money. I just want to get feedback from parents so that I know I'm going the right direction.

I'm setting up a blog to keep track of the progress of development. The domain is http://www.robobetics.com/

Please email me if you are interested to participate.

chucklin72@gmail.com

2279-robots001.jpg (75.4 KB) 2280-robots002.jpg (39.6 KB)

Great IDEA !!!

Go ahead, and if you can merge with some kind of game that will play after the measurement this will be more than perfect !!!

Would you be willing to help with translation to Portuguese?

OF COURSE I DO. Manoel, My KID (9y/o), who is Type 1 since age 1, can read perfectly English, Spanish and Portuguese. So WE can HELP you in both translations (as you wish).

I love this idea!!!

We Will be waiting...

Manoel is the one with TYPE-1

2281-2012120117.08.53.jpg (1.98 MB)