In the Beginning

Hello there!! My name is Krisha and I have been a diabetic for nearly 3 years. I feel fortunate that I found my diabetes early on. Being a nurse, I started noticing all of these crazy symptoms that were all linked to diabetes. I was soooo thirsty that i felt like I would go crazy if i didnt get something to drink, Being thirsty and drinking anything insight seemed to consume my life. Then ofcourse I had to go to the restroom constanly. One morning I woke up and baked some cinnamon rolls for my husband and I. I ate 2. About 2 hours later I was dizzy headed, and felt tingles coursing through my body. My mouth got dry and the extreme thirst was with me as usual. I called my aunt and asked here if I could use the glucometer to check my sugar and told her about all of my symtoms. SHe is a nurse with a home health business, so thank god she had one. She brought it and I checked it. I nearly fainted when i saw the number 475! My family doc was in india at he time so i made an appointment with another doc who i was familiar with, He said… " You need to lose weight and cut back on the breads and sweets." I was dumbfounded… I weight 145 and am 5 foot 6. I didnt wanna lose weight and i thought he was insane… 2weeks and 15 less pounds later my doctor was finally back. I explained everything that i had been going through for the past month and he said." You are in the beginning stages of Type 1 diabetes,that is why you lost that weight.if you would have waited much longer you could have gone into a coma!" My jaw dropped and i said “are you sure.” ofcourse he started me on insulin that day. I thought it would be a snap giving myself injections. afterall, I gave them to patients all of the time. It took me hours to finally give myself a shot.I cried and acted like a drama queen the first few days after my diagnosis. My sugars and the way i felt improved really quickly, I started on Apidra and Lantus… they worked well. I made the decision to start seeing an endocr