Inconspicuous diabetes bag for on the go

Hi - I’ve read a bunch of the older posts on diabetes supplies bags, but I thought I’d revisit. It seems to me that there are 2 problems with a lot of bags out there.

1. they have a lot of organizing pockets and require you to have a clean place to lay the bag down to get your supplies, test, inject, etc. That’s often not possible. In fact, more times than not I’m standing or in a dirty bathroom when I need my supplies.
  2. they are so conspicuous, and I don’t always want to make it obvious what I’m doing when I leave a restaurant table to go inject.

I’m curious what kinds of “bag issues” other people are having, and what solutions they’ve found.

I’ve been riding a motorcycle since the early 1980s, so I have been putting all of my stuff in a backpack. Now that I’m diabetic, I have to carry my d-stuff too. I use one of those cheap toiletry bags 10 x 8 x 3 inches with a mesh insert. All my d-stuff goes in there, and it’s easy to find without even looking. I like the mesh because it lets my Frio breathe.

When in a restaurant, I test and bolus at the table. I use a pump now, but I injected at the table when I was on MDI. I keep my backpack under my chair, reach down, unzip the backpack and it’s easy to feel the d-bag and pull that out and onto my lap. I keep an old test strip bottle in there to receive the used strips, as well as a small bottle of peroxide and some paper towels / napkins. The bag is flat, it serves as a decent work surface on my lap, and has worked quite well for me. One additional benefit for me, which may not apply to anyone else, is that I’ve built the habit to always use that bag, so I have never misplaced this or that d-thing. It’s all in one place, all the time.

1 Like