Inserting a CGM sensor

I’ve been using the MM CGM everyday for over 2 yrs now and lately I’m getting very nervous about injecting the sensor.

I’m not sure if it’s because my senserter needs to be replaced or what but, when I try to inject a sensor, it doesn’t go all the way in and I either have to manually finish pushing it in or I have to pull it out and start over again.

I never used to have any problems inserting a sensor before but a few minutes ago I went to insert another sensor and I couldn’t make myself do it! Any suggestions?

When I first started using the Minimed CGM, it happened all the time to me. When I spread the skin so it was taught while I was using the senserter, the sensor went in a little more smoothly. I might still have to push it in a smidge but not nearly as much as when I just held the senserter against the insertion site. It takes a little getting used to holding the inserting site. Hope this helps!

Give Medtronic a call – tell them your 'serter isn’t putting the Sensor in all the way. Maybe they’ll send you another one; it’s not like it’s a high-cost product for them.

What do you mean when you say, you spread the skin?

Hi, Scott: I believe I"ll take your advice and I will give them a call.

Basically stretch it so that everything under the skin is tight. It helps make sure that it goes directly into the tissue instead of between “lumps” of tissue.

I do what something exotic does and stretch my skin. I also do them pretty much straight in, @ a 90 degree angle. My trainer said that she has observed that they work better that way so I’ve done it and it seems to work. My senserter gizmo is about a year old now so it may be a bit fresher but I have only had issues a couple of times.

Switch to DEXCOM - Insertion is a piece of Cake and the sensors last longer and are more accurate

I can hardly make myself insert it at an angle so, how can I make myself insert it at a 90 degree angle! LOL