Insulin Pump for a child aged 8

My daughter as type 1 Diabetes, she has had this for 6 years. she currently does injections 4 times per day, however, due to high hba1c, lumpy sites and not really any kind of consistency with her bood glucose levels the diabetes doctor has recommended we consider an insulin pump. i would be really grateful of any kind of feedback or advice anyone could give me.

Check out this website, there is a parents of pumpers and all there. … You already posted to CWD site, so I won’t mention it :slight_smile:

OK! So they take the link out. GREAT! insulin-pumpers.org. You know to add the http: // and www to that. Sheesh.

Julie, even though I’m 34 years old, I’m a pumping vet. I will celebrate 12 years of pumping this June…24 years with diabetes in December, ugggghhhh. My 11 year old son has a girl in his class that was diagnosed at 4 and her story is quite similar to your daughters. She went on the pump 4 years ago and is soooo happy. I remember speaking with her parents prior to the pump. They were very worried, mostly about surrendering control to their daughter. They had become quite accustomed to spending their lunch hours at school testing her bs and giving her injections. They would call the school every day at 10am and 2pm to remind the secretary it was time for her snack. Can we say OCD. But as as parent, I’m sure they felt it was what they needed to do. Fast-forward to current day, they told me just last night that they have no doubt they made the right decision. She feels like she fits in with her class-mates now. She doesn’t feel like she’s such a burden anymore. Yes, it was tough for them to relenquish control, but they’re proud of her independence and admire her sense of responsibility.

The added bonus in this case is my son knows the signs of highs and lows and how to treat them. He also knows how to turn off her pump when she’s low. I think he likes to help her for other reasons too…she’s pretty cute.