Insulin Pumpers it imporant to check you Basal Rates

This is my first time writing a blog so bare with me. I think people who are on insulin pumps need to start checking there basal rates. You need to talk to you doctors or Nurse Practicner if you don’t know how to check you basal rates. My doctor was doing research on his patients. He has learned something that is pretty interesting I think. People are setting there Basal rates way to high and are not taking enough insulin for there food. The shocking thing about it people don’t even realize there doing it. Because seen you are having a higher basal rate that is bring you blood sugar back down. It is peaking up and the excess Insulin your getting from your basal rate is what is bring it down. Why is this a problem because most of the time we stay on a regular schedule. I know as a teenager I eat like ever 2 hours and when I test my blood sugar it is fine. But when I found out he was doing this study I thought I would try this just for fun. So I started my Basal test and I didn’t eat for 5 hours. I tested and blood sugar was 63 which for a pump user that shouldn’t happen normally unless you are doing exercise or some activity. But you should be able to go without eating for 5 hour and your blood sugar shouldn’t change no more than 30 points and mine went down 65 which means by basil is way too high. I did these tests over several days to make sure I was getting accurate results and I was. I cut my basal rates down little by little and when I finally got it right I was taking less like I normally used 52 units of insulin a day for basal but know I’m only using 35. Which is a big difference and for my food. I did another test to figure out my insulin to carb ratio to see how many units to how many carbs. I never really counted carbs because I studded the calorie king book and I just remember the carbs in most stuff. I am very good at carb counting I think. But my ratio changed when I took my basal rates down. It went