Insulin

Hi all, for those of you following my story, I am likely early LADA, ant GAD antibodies but I am 15 weeks pregnant and that pushes me into diabetes land.
I recently started Levimir, which helps but I also asked for short acting insulin. My doctor gave me the Echo pen as I wanted to be able to do 1/2 units.
I am not maintaining the tight control I want with just Levimir. I try to stay under 97 fasting and 120 or less at 2 hr pp. I am mostly meeting fasting but my meals are 120-170, largely on carb load. Last pregnancy I tried to eat just 50 g cho day and I exercised after most meals. The endo says I should be able to have 50 g a meal, but to eat that I am going to need to add meal time insulin, which I think is a fair trade for a more normal life.
Those of you familIar with Novolog, any tips on regulating how much based on carbs? I did not get specific instructions, probably because my doctor trusts me to be conservative and knows I am a vet. However, in pets we don’t normally use Novolog or similar, just twice daily basal insulin.
I think I need to start with dinner as that was my 170 last night, and by then my basal is gone. Thinking I will see what 1/2 unit does and go from there?
I also am a runner and need to play with that. I did a 5 k this am and ate a larger carb breakfast, a high fiber bagel and that gave me a 2 hour 145. Then I ran and after running it was down to 111. Not sure about doing Novolog before runs and whether I might “bottom out.” Even though my swings are not drastic by diabetic standards, I know I don’t feel well when I am having these swings.
Any help greatly appreciated and gratefully accepted. Nothing like “the trenches” for wisdom!

Hi Catvet (some of my favorite people!) A couple thoughts: First I encourage you if you haven't already to check out the Pregnancy group on here as managing BG while pregnant has very specific and fairly rigid parameters.