Insurance

I am moving to the U.S. in February 2011 and would like you to please guide me on the topic of Insurance.

I have diabetes for 20 years, I use Lantus and Humalog and thank God I had no problems so far and I have it under control. My HbA1c is on the order of 6.1.

What insurance do you recommend for me to cover insulin, strips, etc?

Thank you very much

Ed

Do you have employment arranged here in the USA for February? If so, many employers offer insurance benefits through certain providers. If you go with this option, the employer pays a portion of the cost. If you obtain health insurance outside of an employer-offered plan you have many more options.....and for that I'd be no help, as I've always been covered under my mom, and then when I graduated college and began working, I accepted the insurance through my teachers union because it's AMAZING. I've never had to shop around for insurance.

Good luck to you!

If you stay with one of the majors, United Health, Blue Cross etc you likely will have pretty good coverage.

It would be important though you also have a good physician that is willing to work with you while you are here. For example if you need do a certain amount of test strips per day then a physician can write the prescription so your strips are covered. Most insuanse companies have set amounts but will not likely override a physicians prescription. This can carry over also in other areas.