Pls help me

hi,
i am in nc , usa . i want to tie myself with the best insurance company here . since i am planning to get an insulin pump here . i want a insurance company that will help me to get one with very minimum charges or at free of cost … i am new to this , pls help me out …

will the insurance company approve me pump immediately after the doctors advice .

guide me with one which can get me . pls .

all insurance companies are different. The best ones that I’ve found for diabetes care is Blue Cross / Blue Shield and also Aetna.

Pumps do not come easy (see your other discussion thread started today for more information) but it is possible to get one in a short amount of time.

Do you currently see an endocronologist?
Can you get insurance through your place of employment?

no yet to see a endocronologist and no i am not working at present to get insurance through my place of employment .

If you don’t join through employment, your insurance company will likely not pay for any expenses related to diabetes for 1 year because your diabetes will be a pre-existing condition. Also, insurance might be quite expensive given that you have type 1 diabetes. Have you asked for prices of insurance?

In America, the health insurance system is very much biased towards the people employed by mid and larger companies. If you work for a small company or heaven forbid are self employed or on your own health insurance is very expensive. Should you seek insurance on your own, you will likely find that as Kristen notes you have to wait a year for coverage, not just on a pump, but everything. On the other side, get a job with a fairly good sized employer and you can get insurance from the start. As a diabetic, when you look for work, that whole health insurance thing can sometimes be as important as your starting salary.