I've been thinking

...about trying out CGM again.
Awhile back I was hooked up to Medtronic's first CGM. It was a test run that went wrong. For starters the sensor hurt as it was injected into my body. Secondly, I was only able to keep it on me for 3 days. Lastly, by the time those 3 days were up, I had gotten an infection from the sensor needle thingy. (please excuse my slang terminology) Also, at this time my injection site was my butt, so it kind of hurt to sit down once it was taken out for good, and it was also very uncomfortable to sit on when it was in me.
So, ever since this experience I haven't worn my CGM sensor. Although, now I see they've greatly improved CGM technology and I'm wondering if I should give it another try, and which CGM device I should use.
Suggestions or advice anyone??

I have been using CGMS (self funded) for 4 years. IMO, knowing at any time where my BG is (at least approximately) and more importantly where it is going (up or down) is a HUGE plus point and I would find it difficult to go back to having to rely on doing fingersticks.

I would guess that your previous experience was with the Medtronic Sof-Sensors. These were inserted with a spring-loaded thing using a needle that would have been suitable for use as a harpoon (look out Moby Dick LOL). Pain on insertion was sometimes a problem. I was able to get reasonably reliable readings from the sensors, although this seemed to need Yoda-like skills/knowledge (which I managed to acquire from other users on forums/boards).

Sof-sensors were replaced, 2 years ago in Europe and more recently in the USA, by Enlite sensors. These have much smaller and more comfortable insertion needles and electrode. Sensors last 6 days, but can be re-started to extend this to around 8 days. Accuracy can still be an issue with these.