Japanese Food - Carbs?

Hello:

I am new with a pump and started counting carb only some months ago. At home, it’s easy, you have your tables, nutricional tags, calculator, etc.

Now I am going to visit Japan for 2 weeks and I am afraid how different the food is. I would like to taste and inmerse the Japanese food, no eating only occidental or known food.

I have read some websites and I have difficulties to find a clear idea how to calculate the carbs I will eat at every food time. Please, I would like to collect some information about the most popular food.

For example: I write down a list of the main food and you can help me typing how many carbs (in grams) has each food in a standard size (bowl, piece, etc.)

• Sushi / Sashimi (mainly rice). unit: a piece
  • Rice. Unit: a bowl (Would I increase the CH for the starch?)
  • Noodle. Unit: a bowl
  • Miso soup: Unit: a bowl
  • Bread: Can I follow the European standard of 20g is 10g CH?or it is sweeter
  • Tempura: Unit: Per piece (speaking about the batter)
  • Ramen: Unit: a bowl
  • Okonomiyaki:
  • Udom/ Soba: Unit: a bowl

I know that everything’s relative depends on many factors such as sauces, quantity, added sugar for tradition in the cooking process,

Thank you

I’m envious - that sounds fun and delicious. So first, have fun and know you will have some roller-coasters especially if you’re eating out.

A few other comments: Sauces and batters are a complete mystery carb thing, and commonly way more than you would think. Be restrained with noodles and rice. If you have a cgm it will be your new best friend, if not, test more often than you think you should.

Tell us your favorite foods after you get back!