Ketosis confusion

Hey folks – new out here and I searched around but didn’t really find a thread addressing this – apologies if this is adding noise.

So short version is I’ve been eating low carb (less than 30 g per day) for a few years now – as a type 2 for nearly 10 years who’s not yet on insulin it’s a necessary bit of loveliness and has been working reasonably well (A1cs in the low 6’s for some time). Lately me and my wife have been experimenting heavily with baking using various formulas that use zero carb Whey isolate as a base. Real heavily. We kinda went a little overboard since neither of us has had any bread-y type food in years. Effectively these concoctions (some of which turned out real nice – I’ll have to post some of the processes that worked on the recipes forum when I get time) are very close to zero carb and loaded with protein.

So, cut to the chase. I’m usually never in ketosis or barely trace – I check once or twice a week usually. I haven’t changed my diet or exercise routine in the last couple weeks other than filling my face with more protein than I normally do (usually try and keep it under 100 g). The last 3 days I’ve been WAY into ketosis. Never seen the stick get that dark before.

I had thought that indicated a break down in fat cells when eating very low carb which forced the body to go elsewhere for a source of energy. Given the diet stayed the same other than the introduction of considerable amounts of additional protein why would this sudden jump into ketosis come about?

Mostly I’m just curious – I’m dialing back on the baking experiments (actually getting tired of the muffin-quest if you can believe it) and will get back in my usual zone again here shortly, but wondering if maybe my understanding of the ketosis process is incomplete.

-J