Lantus goes bad after 30 days?

I’m new to using insulin, so if this question appears ignorant- it’s because I AM ignorant. I don’t have health insurance, so I am very cost conscious of my Diabetes medicine and supplies. Anyway, my Lantus basal is only 17 units every night. So I have this huge supply of Lantus that is less than half used, yet it is older than 30 days now. I don’t want to throw it away as it seems like a waste of money and insulin. Is it okay to keep using it, or do I >really< have to throw it away? I want to save money. Yet I don’t want to hurt myself using old/bad insulin. Any help here is appreciated!

Charles, here is a discussion with many replies that may answer any questions

The maker of Lantus (Aventis) has studied the effectiveness over the range of conditions and essentially assures you that the Lantus will be still good 30 days after opening. After that, all bets are off in terms of what Aventis assures. That being said, I would actually believe that this is for worst case conditions. If you read (http://care.diabetesjournals.org/content/26/9/2665.full), there is a detailed discussion of storage and handling for insulin and it indicates that the two main factors degrading the effectiveness of lantus is temperature and light. My bet would be that if you kept the lantus in the fridge all the time away from light, it would probably be fine for longer than 30 days. But understand that if your fasting levels start to rise, you should immediately suspect that the Lantus has gone bad. Also, if you notice any clumping or congealing, the insulin is bad and should be discarded. Any medical professional would likely advise you against skimping in such a way, but of course they would also tell you not to inject through your clothes as well.