Learning to eat lower carb

Recently, I started to use a CGMS (along with my 2 daughters, also type 1 D, all 3 of us D’xed at <12 months old). And the one thing I’m noticing, in a glaring way, is that I need to start to change my diet. I’ve been diabetic for a very long time (40+ years), and I think, even though I’ve been pumping for about 10 years, in some part of my brain, I still held onto my “you have to eat a certain amount at a certain time” type mentality. And, looking at my daily trending info, that attitude isn’t doing me any favors. . . nor my girls.

I’ve always managed A1c’s in the 6.5-7.5 range, nothing to brag about, but according to Dr’s, decent. The really frightful thing about CGMS is seeing how that, what I thought was a nice, healthy meal of steamed vegtables with rice of pasta with beans does to my BG, and the wicked spike it brings on, occasionally hours later.

So, I’ve got myself used to a carb pattern that’s basiclly 30g for B-fast, 45-60 for lunch, 50-70g for dinner, an occasional 10-20g snack here or there throughout the day. I do a majority of the cooking, and am trying to steer us to a lower carb diet, but seriously, it seems like every time I try it, we end up hungry later and hitting up the cracker stash. Anyone have any advice, or maybe a decent book that they’ve found that was helpful to them?

It may just be a matter of mind over matter, that we need to retrain our minds and stomaches, but the evidence that we need to change our habits stares me in the face every time I look down at my CGMS, and I need to figure out how to do it, while also keeping our food budget in check. Ideas?

Call me not aware, but what is CGMS?

Your post shows exactly what we have to do…retrain our thinking and our abilities to take care of ourselves in the healthiest way possible.