Looking for T1s to exercise with in WNY!

I am new to TuDiabetes but a friend suggested I give it a “shot” and use forums to find other people living in the Western New York area to exercise with. I was diagnosed with diabetes at age 23 (4yrs ago if you like math problems) so I didn’t have the privilege of growing up going to JDRF or ADA camps to meet other people with diabetes.

I don’t care what kind of exercise! I live outside of Rochester NY and leisurely train for marathons and half-marathons throughout the year. I’d like to get into triathlons but I’m afraid of getting kicked in the face in the water… I also play ice hockey and coach lacrosse (played lacrosse in college) and I play co-ed indoor soccer in the winter.

I’ve never been on a forum of any kind before so this is all very new to me - I hope it works! Is there anybody out there who wants to run with another Type 1?

Emily

I saw a bunch of other T1 people @ the Chicago Marathon but haven’t run into too many in my normal course of events. I had a good time training with some really excellent people at our local running store. It was pretty much voluntary but was a big enough operation that there were a variety of pace groups 8:00-11:00/ mile. We took turns bringing snacks for after, the store got lots of free gels/ Gatorade/ etc. type of goodies that they shared a lot of and were good to train with. I don’t think that any of them were too knowledgeable about T1 or diabetes in general so I was pretty much on my own for those sort of emergencies but it was very helpful to have some people to run with and made various people (parents, spouse…) who expressed concern about “what if you run low and get eaten by wolverines?” [as if Wolverines would be interested in someone with low BG…] feel better. There are some groups of T1 athletes (I see your insulindependence link…) but for me, it was handier to have a local group of runners to train with and I just went with that and got what I needed.