Low Carb Good Fats

Is anyone having success with LCHF I am seriously thinking of trying this and would like to hear from other who are doing this and having success.

1 Like

I have been doing it for 3 years or so with outstanding results. A1c in the mid fives, better lipids, using less insulin, pretty much better everything.

2 Likes

A couple of years here. Intermittent fasting, too. I like it. Works for me. :egg: We need a bacon icon…

1 Like

I’ve been doing it off and on for several years. Since January 1 I have been very focused on limiting my carb intake to 20/day. So far I’ve lost 12 pounds. I love how I feel and the energy I have. My A1c test is in 1 month. But from the data on my meter, the results should be in the low 6’s.

Sarah :four_leaf_clover:

2 Likes

I have to admit when I limit carbs, my CMG flat lines. But it would take some discipline to do this all the time. What motivates you, and what do you do to avoid carbs? How many carbs is LOW or ULTRA LOW? What do you eat instead? Is your BMI low as well?

I’ve been at it for four years. I lost 25 pounds, cut my insulin usage in half, and got off the glucose roller coaster. The reduction of glucose variability has been one of the biggest benefits. It makes my quality of life much better. I don’t have to constantly defend against raging hypos; there’s a lot less drama.

Bernstein’s law of small numbers is amazing: fewer carbs = less insulin = smaller mistakes.

5 Likes

Good for you, @curlysarah!

This doesn’t happen every day but it’s not that uncommon either. The biggest reason is my low carb high fat way of eating.

2 Likes

Something like 10 years for me. I use lots and lots of spices, both fiery hot and just unusual. I find that helps keep my interest. I prowl the cookbook aisle in the library for ideas I can adapt.

1 Like

I’ve been eating low carb for at least 7 years now. I don’t count carbs, I just avoid them most of the time (particularly grains, potato, corn, sugars, most fruits).