Lows all week

Hey there everyone.

Well, ok...maybe I'm just freaking out??

but I've been pretty low all week, like...under 90 all week.

I was diagnosed a little over a month ago.

So far the doc has me on 30units of Lantus everyday, which I just split into 20u in the morning

then 10u at bed.

then I take Novolog at my meals for carb intake.

I was using a sliding scale, but then switched to an I:C of 1 unit per 15g carb consumed

but, my numbers have been around 65-85 for like the last 3 days, pretty much every time I've checked my blood.

pre-meals, post meals, middle of the night...I cant seem to stay over 100 for the past few days.

would it be this change in my insulin thats doing it??

but the lows started about a day BEFORE i changed my insulin. like I said, am I just freaking out??

Maybe I should just wait a few more days and see if my numbers level out?

Dunno really, really I'm just a noob at diabetes, and I'm just a tad worried.

Have you gone through a “honey moon” stage already? Often times when people are newly diagnosed there is a period of time where their blood sugars run low. If not it is very possible it could be the new dose of insulin. I would call your doc and see what they suggest.It’s not good to be consistently low.Hope you figure out what it is,good luck.

Being consistently under 90 is not necessarily a bad thing. A BG anywhere between 70 to 90 fasting or before a meal is a really good thing. Personally, I don’t even worry if my BG is down between 60 and 70 premeal or fasting.

After a meal is a bit more tricky. It really depends upon how long after the meal and how stable your BG of 85 to 90 post meal is. If you’re crashing to 90 within an hour after a meal, it’s a good bet that you’re going to drop further, to below 70, and that’s where the real danger is, not necessarily being at 85 or 90 postmeal.