Major artificial pancreas clinical trial starting in 2016

A long-term clinical trial of an artificial pancreas developed by University of Virginia and Harvard University researchers with almost $13 million in funding from the U.S. National Institutes of Health will begin early this year. The AP will be tested for six months in 240 people with type 1 diabetes at nine sites in the United States and Europe. Researchers will compare this system to current diabetes management with an insulin pump. Then, 180 of those patients will be followed for another six months.

3 Likes

Have they picked all the people that they are going to use for this trial? I am T1 for almost 34 years. I got diagnosed at the age 14. The family doctor that diagnosed me never told me about other sites on my body to take shots. I had been using my legs for several years. I can’t use my Insulin pump on my legs, they are humped up and insulin won’t go into them like it should. I am having problems with my sites. I used to change my site ever 3 days. My Endo. doctor has me doing it ever other day. Sometime I still have problems. My Endo. doctor does know this and I tried some different types of sets. I use the quick set. That is the easiest for me.

Diabetes is on my dads side of the family. Right now I am the last one on my dads side of the family to have T1. I have the Hyper& Hypo Glucemia Unawareness. My boyfriend has found me on the floor a few times. I got on a minimed insulin pump in 2001. I am on Disability since 2002. I have a lot more auto-immune diseases. I think that is ONE big reason that they wouldn’t use me. My Endocrinologist has been T1 about as long as me and he has a minimed pump too.

VERY exciting!

Interesting. This is not the dual chamber AP with glucagon, is it? In prior testing pts have had to use three sites. Wondering if the final AP will need two or three sites…