Mammograms and the pod

What do you ladies do when you get a mammogram? This will be my first after getting the pod. Insulet says I should remove the pod but the idea of not getting any insulin for an hour or more is a bit scary. I was thinking perhaps I could schedule the mammogram on a “pod change day” and change it as soon as I get home. Of course, leaving the PDM in the car…
Has anyone done this? Will the pod go crazy and start screaming? (that could be a problem if I leave the PDM in the car) :slight_smile:
Thanks in advance.

I went to school for radiologic technology, and I’m now a professor for an RT program (xray, CT, MRI, interventional procedures, etc).
As long as the pod is not going to be in the primary beam, the newer machines (with their proper shielding and collimation abilities) should be fine. Mammography machines and their callibration techniques are mandated by the FDA (unlike most of the other radiologic technology modalities) so the facility at which you’re getting it done should be in good standing and have proper equipment if they’re open for business).

If you’re worried about it and you happen to have your pod on your arm, you could ask the technologist if they have any lead shielding that you could wrap around your pod. If it’s on your backside anywhere, your body will absorb nearly all of the scatter radiation before it would reach your pump, so shielding shouldn’t really be an issue.