Medicare and G6 cost varies each month?

I have been using the G6 now for about a year, but only since February 2021 on Medicare.

I’m confused about the cost to me. Each time I get a new 3 month Rx, the first filling (one month) is zero dollars and the next two are always $45.

When asked about it, the response is that’s what Medicare says. I haven’t pushed it but I will now. It just makes no sense to me.

I assume I need to call Medicare directly for an answer. I have never called them so this should be interesting and I hope not a long long wait to get someone only to be transferred.

My original provider managed to get one Rx completed in 4 months and I switched. The new provider got it cover and ready to go in 2 weeks. This is my only problem with them so I feel like I’m winning, somewhat. The cost thing just bugs me.

Any suggestions before I call Medicare?

Are you on traditional Medicare as opposed to Medicare Advantage? Medicare Advantage is actually private insurance whose rules vary somewhat from Medicare rules.

People who subscribe to traditional Medicare often sign up for a supplemental plan that picks up what Medicare does not cover. CGM supplies, insulin used in a pump and insulin pump supplies, are covered under Medicare Part B. Part B is what allows me to enjoy zero dollars out of pocket coverage for my pump insulin, pump supplies and CGM supplies once I pay my annual Part B deductible.

Many pharmacies are not familiar with administering Part B prescriptions and end up filing under the more common and familiar Part D prescriptions coverage. This will end up costing the patient more money.