Meter = 83mg/dl DEX=63 mg/dl what to do?

Last night DEX woke me at 2:25am DEX said 65 & when I tested meter said 64. So I took enough glucose to go up to 91, waited a little to see DEX was rising then back to sleep. At 4:45am DEX woke me again it said 65 but meter said 84, so I corrected to take me up to 104. When I woke up at 8:45am, meter was 154 DEX said 117, so I calibrated & took a correction but BG stayed high until 1pm.

What would you have done? Calibrated at 4:45am, or not corrected with glucose. I guess the later high BG was a rebound. DEX showed steady climb to 117 not sure why the meter was so much higher.

How does one avoid the annoying scenario where DEX alarms at the low BG threshold then goes slightly above then down under again so it alarms again! Sometimes in less than 5 minutes!

I started the 2nd 7 days for this sensor on Friday, so I hope it will stay accurate for a few days longer.

This is the start of my 3rd week so I am still new at this.

Thanks for any tips & lessons learned from experience.

Annabella

There are always days that just don't work right. No matter how hard you try. Keep in mind that meters are at time inaccurate too. There are just too many factors to take into account to make quick decisions all the time. For example, if you had been sleeping on the Dex sensor before the 154/117 readings, the compression of your skin at the sensor location can make the Dex read low. Not that you should not do that, but keep it in mind for future reference. Just keep trying and don't fret the days that don't seem quite right. It's the long term that matters most in Diabetes care.