More Callus on Fingers Due to Glucose Testing?

I have been using the Bayer Contour for a few months. Lately I’ve noticed a larger amount of callus on my fingers, compared to when I used the lancing device that I had before (the one for the BD Link meter). Anyone else experienced the same thing?

Manny: I use a lancing device. I have a real nice callus on the middle finger of my left hand.

Manny,
I have found after 35 years of diabetes and 20 years of testing that callouses are on all my fingers. A nurse told me about a moth or 2 months ago that she had had many diabetics who had tested their fingers and had callous form on their fingers and had to have the tips down to the 1st joint in them removed and I will pass along the information she told me. If you have a bs machine you can test on your arm or anywhere else do it b/c all diabetics Type1 or 2 usually wind up with cirtory problems and that will happen.

I think the BD Link suggests using the 33 guage BD lancets. They’re a bit thinner than others on the market and should lead to smaller callouses. I see from your posting Oct 6 that your Link meter used the big white BD lancing device. That one is by far the smoothest and most comfortable lancer in my collection, even without using the 33 guage lancets. The Contour device is probably my least favourite out of the 5 different types I have. I find the release button requires too much pressure, and the release is very sudden, almost a snap, which makes me flinch and wiggle the lancing device. The result is more pain and probably more callouses. It’s a weird shape and too small for my big hands too.

When I want a small, very portable lancing device I use the new version of the One Touch lancer.

BD, One Touch, and Bayer lancets are all interchangeable. Mix and match them as you want. Go back to using the BD lancer with whatever lancets you prefer.