MUST DIabetes be progressive?

When I was diagnosed T2 in 2003, following a stroke, I was put onto 3 x 500mg Metformin per day + 40mg Gliclazide. I was advised( briefly!) on diet and told a week later that since diabetes is progressive, I would gradually need to increase my medication. Initially, the Gliclazide dose would be doubled( I was halving the 80mg tablets at the time) then I would have my Metformin changed to the 850mg tablets and eventually and inevitably, I would need insulin. So far I’ve dropped the Gliclazide completely, whilst reducing HbA1c to 5.6% and losing 40 pounds, which I’ve kept off. I also often miss the midday Metformin tablet&gt: so not going on to the 850s.
I discovered Richard Bernstein, Charles Clark , Lois Jovanovic andDavid Mendosa,. I read everything I could: joined this and one other forum. I also used my education(I have a degree in a Biological Science) I have subscribed online to “The Journal of Nutrition and Metabolism” and “The Lancet” I keep up to-date on research.
I walk miles each week and attend exercise classes in a group of people of my own generation, who all have health issues.( at 62, I’m one of the youngest and fittest.)
The secret for me has been carb restriction.
This used to be the standard dietary advice to diabetics, before the Ancel Keys Lipid/heart hypothesis and the idea of “progression”. I know of at leat one T2 diabetic, who has lived a lifetime, into the 80s on a restricted carb diet and without medication. Have ALL the medics been bamboozled into the pharmacological route for diabetes control? Definitely the medical establishment in the UK have totally committed to it. As a result under 50% of British diabetics achieve an HbA1c < 7.5%.
I am not so naive as to think that aall people with diabetes could or would comply with a reduced carb diet, but many more would if they knew about it.