My G6 "sensor failures" seem to be just my wild bg excursions

My G6 declared a sensor failure last night for for most of an hour, after my bg took a completely unexpected excursion into the stratosphere. But I cross-checked with a fingerstick and my bg really was taking that excursion.

A bit of background… sometimes I have been 90%+ TIR. Maybe not the “flatliner club” but really pretty good. But yesterday was an exception. I don’t know what the deal was yesterday I was zooming wildly low and high the whole day. But in every case a fingerstick test and my OneTouch Verio agreed with the G6.

I will admit that yesterday I tried moving my OTC Allergy pill to evening instead of afternoon and went out and mowed the grass late yesterday afternoon but I don’t know if that’s to blame for my huge wild excursions yesterday. Seems unlikely what time I take an allergy pill is responsible for multiple dips below 70 and an extended excursions above 300.

I have been using the G6 for 9 months now and in retrospect other hour-or-so sensor failures I’ve had it declare - AFTER the first 12 hours - were because of wild excursions in my bg that evidently my G6 didn’t believe but for which a cross-check with a fingerstick confirmed. I have been doing really well with 12-hour soak of new sensors before moving the transmitter to them.

Below is the curve from Clarity and I have highlighted the sensor offline area with my red text markup. Again yesterday was not a good day! Also note the hypo on the graph around midnight. That was real and also a PITA. I ate and ate and ate to bring that back up.

How high was your excursion when you finger checked it @Tim12 ?

My fingerstick meter (OneTouch Verio) said 350 but I know from past cross-checks on it that was probably 20 or 30 points on the high side.