Needing some thoughts suggestions something

I’m new in everything so help me understand something low BG is said to be less than 65 but if I drop into the mid 70’s I start feeling light headed shaky my vision turns like foggy my head feels funny then when I get it back up close to 100 I feel almost beat up my muscles feel sore any help id appreciate please my Dr is jerking me around and I’m trying to find a new one as we speak

When it comes to anything connected with diabetes, specific numbers should only be taken as guidelines. Individual physiologcal responses vary enormously from person to person. Two people can have the same BG reading (65, for example) and one can experience strong symptoms while the other feels perfectly fine. We have an acronym: YDMV (“Your Diabetes May Vary”). It just means that there is tremendous variation from person to person and that what works perfectly for one may not work at all for someone else.

It appears that for you, 65 is too low. Never mind what it feels like to someone else; what matters is how it affects you. If that’s too low for you, then it’s too low for you. Period. Only experience can tell you what the comfortable and safe range is for you.

There is another complicating factor in this picture, too: home glucometers are only required to be accurate to within 10 or 20 percent, depending on the range. So a reading of 65 on the meter could actually correspond to a lower (or higher) actual BG level. Meters aren’t as precise as they might be, and they vary greatly from brand to brand. You can do some research online to find comparisons that will indicate which meters give the most consistent readings.

What all of this boils down to is, numbers are guidelines and nothing more. You have to learn, for yourself, what ranges are appropriate for you.

5 Likes

Thank you very much friend I appreciate you