New to Dexcom

My name is Andy. I’m new to Dexcom. I’m supposed to be getting the kit and sensors Thursday and hopefully I can train Fri. I also use an Omnipod Insulin Pump. If I can’t get in Friday, is it alright to start doing things by myself? (I was on Minimed CGMS for a little bit.) Any advice or troubleshooting tips?

i started without training and to-date i have only spoken to a dexcom rep by phone. it’s fairly instinctive.

Me too. Since I has used the MM CGM, I was pretty confident on using the Dexcom. I’ve only had to call Dexcom because of “failed sensor” errors.

Welcome to the Dexcom Users Andy!
For most of us it is a little bit of a learning curve. Until you become confident with it it seems a little hard to disconnect the plastic injector “pump” and the transmitter lock-in tab. I would prefer to wait for the trainer who will make you do itself the first time, and that helps build confidence. I have found the Dexcom Tech Support to be unfailingly helpful, so don’t hesitate to call there if you run into problems. You can also learn a lot from just reading as much as you can stomach of this Dexcom Users Group postings. There is a ton of helpful info here. Good luck!

I’m getting my DexCom CGM next week and they’ve told me to charge the reciever for at least 3 hrs. before they come to train me and to read the manual thoroughly. What am I in for? all these skin preps, tape etc.I’m totally new to this. Mine is all out of pocket as Medicare won’t cover any of it. My Dr. tried every which way to get an Animas pump for me to no avail. Going with CGM as it’s a whole lot less expensive. fishing lady

It will become easier after you talk to the trainer. I have only been using mine for a few months. My A1c went from 7.4 to 6.7, the first time it has ever been below 7.0. Be patient and ask your trainer lots of questions. The people on this site have also been very helpful.
Good luck
Allen