New to the world of pancreatic abnormality

Hello everyone!

My name is Jasmine and I’m 23 years old. I live in North Carolina and I am a graduate student and nanny. I recently went to the endocrinologist with a complaint of recurrent low blood sugar. Some of my low blood sugars were fasting but many of them were 2-4 hours after meals. While checking my blood sugar sugars before visiting the endocrinologist to try and discern a pattern, I discovered that my blood sugars reached the 170’s-180’s post high carb meals. I also spike to at least 140 even briefly no matter what I eat. My endocrinologist tested for insulin antibodies, IA-2 antibodies, ZNT8 antibodies and Anti GAD 65 antibodies. I only tested positive for the Anti GAD 65 antibodies. My c-peptide level was 2.6 with a lab reference range of 1.1 to 4.4. My blood sugar was 76 and I was fasting, although I don’t believe that actually has any impact on c-peptide based on what I’ve read. My A1C was 5 which is up from 4.5 when my primary care doctor checked it during my physical exam 4 months ago. My endocrinologist explained that she believes the hypoglycemia is attributed to abnormal insulin release patterns as part of the early stages of Type 1 based on my positive antibody test, c-peptide level and higher than normal post prandial readings. She referred me to a nutritionist who explained the importance of eating low carb, eliminating processed food and excess sugar (all of which are important, diabetes or not). Right now, we’re just watching and waiting and I’m doing what I can to eat low carb to try and preserve beta cell function for as long as possible. I’m going back to see the endocrinologist in 3 months to recheck c-peptide and A1C. I just wanted to see if anyone here had a similar experience or can provide me with more insight into what these results and numbers mean for my life. Thanks for any help you guys can offer!!

Welcome Jasmine!